Remediation and Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pately

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I am a first-year DO student and I just failed my neuro block. I was wondering how badly this would impact my chances for matching into a residency program for Internal Medicine. I'm concerned because Step 1 will be pass/fail and my school will be making us take Comlex Level I as pass/fail as well, so I would not be able to simply get a high boards score to show residency programs. I will be remediating this block at the end of the semester. But is there anything else I should do so that this is not a major red flag?

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Hit Step 2 out of the ballpark.

Reactions: 1 user
Some programs filter out people that remediate or fail anything. Overall, you should be fine at nearly all community programs and some academic. A first year remediation can be overlooked easily if its not indicative of a pattern. You'd be surprised how many doctors failed something

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
The surgery program director at my core rotation site failed his psych rotation when he was in med school

Yes, it's a red flag 🚩. How you perform from here on out will make all the difference. Do well in class, don't fail Step 1, do well on Step 2 and clinicals. Some programs may screen you but I believe there is plenty of room for redemption. That said, make sure you in fact redeem yourself. Otherwise, low grades and boards might work against you depending on your specialty.