Required Degree

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Austin1

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in my fourth year of college and I am applying to an optometry college this comming august for the following year. I will have every requirment for optometry school and a bachelors degree but I do not wish to get a bachelors degree. I do not want to get a degree because I will receive a great deal of money from my native american tribe to pay for school if i dont get one. They will not pay for a great deal of my professional school if I get a degree. Don't ask me why, but that is how they work. Anyways, I talked to the admissions lady at this college and she told me that a bachelor's degree is STRONGLY RECOMMENDED and that I need to get one for prefrence even though I told her my situation. In their catalog they mention that if one has a minimum of 90 hrs that they are eligible for the bachelor degree of vision science which I wanted to get. She acted like I would not have prefrence if I did not abtain a bachelors degree. MY QUESTION IS: Do any of anyone's classmates not have a bachelors degree upon entering optometry school? Also, do all schools act like this? Any help would greatly be appreciated. THANK YOU

Members don't see this ad.

at most schools a BA or BS is REQUIRED before matriculation. I don't think there are many schools in which there are exceptions.

I feel for your situation.

Unfortunately I can't provide you will any helpful information
(BA 2002).

Eyegirl

Members don't see this ad :)