requirements for IMG for US residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GCIMG

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!
Im a IMG from Sydney, Australia and a US permanent resident; I graduated with MBBS end of 2008 and am currently in the US trying to cram for the USMLE I and II (i tried to study for them during my degree, but thought it was best to do it properly and thoroughly). I delayed my internship year in Australia by six month so that i would start in July, but just wanted to know if i actually need to complete my internship in Australia in order to apply for residency programs? im getting confused because in Australia it is a req that you do one full year of internship (as conditional registration) before getting complete board registration...is this the case with the US? Is internship a req in the US or will my time be better applied by finding externship/observership and research projects in the US?
Any input would be appreciated?

Members don't see this ad.

just wanted to know if i actually need to complete my internship in Australia in order to apply for residency programs?

You don't as long as they are giving you the diploma after graduation rather than at the end of internship. That would be different in some other countries like Germany where your internship in Australia would be a prerequisite to join a residency program. In the states, it's not.

On a seperate not, Internship in the states refers to the first year of residency.

will my time be better applied by finding externship/observership and research projects in the US?

I suppose.

Hello!