Research as an option since I didn't match...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

timeout66

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 2008 US Grad, who is completing a PGY-1 Medicine preliminary year. This year I applied for psychiatry (PGY1) and for some reason, I didn't match.

I am considering my options and one of them is to take a year off. During this year, I plan to take Step III early and would like to get involved in some sort of clinical research so as to stay close to the medical field. And of course, I would be submitting ERAS in the fall once again.

I was wondering if anyone had any idea how to go about getting involved in this type of research. I am not necessarily looking for a paid position either.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I am a 2008 US Grad, who is completing a PGY-1 Medicine preliminary year. This year I applied for psychiatry (PGY1) and for some reason, I didn't match.

I am considering my options and one of them is to take a year off. During this year, I plan to take Step III early and would like to get involved in some sort of clinical research so as to stay close to the medical field. And of course, I would be submitting ERAS in the fall once again.

I was wondering if anyone had any idea how to go about getting involved in this type of research. I am not necessarily looking for a paid position either.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

I was sorta wondering the same thing....when people don't match the instinctive response from others is always "oh, just do a year of research".....but I don't see any openings for research out there that are easily had, especially if one is a recent grad and has no real research background.