justme08

10+ Year Member
Aug 24, 2008
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
I'm a nontraditional student, both in terms of age, and I'm completing my bachelors online. I have research experience in law, I was a paralegal and even investigator for many years. I lack any real lab research experience in psychology. I do have good clinical experience though.

I have a very high GPA (knock on wood that remains as I'm about to undertake my last 7 classes through TESC, which will be a new school for me).

My real question is, I see that research experience is looked upon highly. I am only interested in funded programs, or HPSP, or even USUHS, so, I need to be competitive.

I'm looking for suggestions on how to approach a place to gain research experience. I have a state university in my city, one that I would be interested in going to grad school at. Has anyone approached a school they were not a student at about this? Any suggestions on effective methods to go about this? I'm only interested, obviously, given very limited time, in experience or research that will help me.

I also volunteer at a state mental health hopsital. I'm not aware of any research going on there, but is there any way I can "create" a research project, or pursue something here? I have implemented and teach a new group along the lines of bibliotherapy, could I create research around this?

TIA for advice on this.

coloradocutter

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Apr 9, 2006
Status
Psychology Student