Research importance in matching into EM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mtwop

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sorry to have to post this in the resident forum. I'm a first year med student and I plan on applying for EM residencies (I know many students change their mind) but I really couldn't imagine doing any other specialty. I did two years of research during undergrad, but I'm not all that interested in doing more. I know the importance of solid board scores and doing rotations at your top programs. However, I also know that EM is becoming increasingly competitive, so I would appreciate your feedback on making this decision

Members don't see this ad.

just out of curiousity how do you see yourself wanting to do EM at this early stage? past personal experience? advice from others?

of those i know who matched in EM at denver, hennepin, cleveland clinic, mayo, and wash u...none had any research (i dont know if those are good programs or not, but they had the most name recognition of those who matched in EM that i could recall)

those could be weak programs, but take it for what its worth

I matched into EM this most recent application cycle. I did research during the summer between my first and second year of medical school. I think the research experience made my application more well-rounded; it showed that I was willing to explore research in EM. However, many of my classmates also matched well into EM without research experience.