Jul 1, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
I'm a 34 year old veteran, pre-med student at UC-Berkeley. My question is if I should have a ton of research experience as a pre-med since I plan to rejoin the military after medical school? I want my application to be congruent with my future goals. Any advice?

WernickeDO

Returning to the womb
7+ Year Member
Feb 27, 2011
North
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I'm a 34 year old veteran, pre-med student at UC-Berkeley. My question is if I should have a ton of research experience as a pre-med since I plan to rejoin the military after medical school? I want my application to be congruent with my future goals. Any advice?
If you want to do research then avoid the military. A MD/Ph.D is a better bet.

WernickeDO

Returning to the womb
7+ Year Member
Feb 27, 2011
North
Status
Resident [Any Field]
A more direct answer to your question is that research always helps pre-meds with med school admission, which is really your goal at this point. If you are at UC-Berkeley I am sure there is tons of research going on that you can help out with. My earlier post refers to the fact that most Army docs, even those with an interest in research, spend their time with clinical and clerical work. If being a doctor/researcher is your goal, then the mil is not a good option. Good luck.

mw18

5+ Year Member
Jan 7, 2014
Status
Medical Student
You can get into med school without research, no doubt. It likely does make it easier. You don't need a ton of research though. You can do light work for a year, or heavy work on a project or two. Just show that you have the curiosity and that you've worked to learn the scientific process. The application process isn't supposed to be about checking boxes, but in a lot of ways it is. If you were all ready to apply and didn't have any experience, then I wouldn't tell you to delay it. But if you're early on enough that you can get some experience, then you should.

HighPriest

Specialized in diseases of the head holes