research: inorganic or physcial/analytical chemistry?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ktran411

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
hello everyone. it had come to my attention that there are research opportunities offered at my school. Only, the research topics are not directly related to pharmacy. well, im sure they are in a way, but i realize that they wont be as appealing on applications compared to helping out at a pharmacy or shadowing. in spite of that, i am still interested in trying out the research opportunities from the professors ive recently inquired. i am a second-year undergrad (at cal-state northridge. fyi. its not really acknowledged as a pharmacy-oriented school) still trying to finish my general science classes to meet the pharmacy pre-req. so i figure id use those next few college years to get my hands wet and try out what's offered at my school.

my advisor had mentioned that ANY type of experience is good, even if it's not pharmacy related. itd be highly recommended that i do, but it doesnt have to be entirely confined to that area of study. i consider myself to still be set on being a pharmacist, yet i just want to try new things and explore. one of my professors is doing research on catalysts based on transition metal complexes, while my other professor is doing research on surface chemistry/material analysis. which brings me to my main question: which research topic should i that would be MOST helpful down the road in the field of pharmacy, 1) inorganic chemistry? or 2) analytical/physical chemistry?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: