Research opportunities

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Karim

The Egyptian Undergrad
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm only a undergrad freshman but I'm looking at possible research opportunities...does anyone know of any good competitive research programs (preferably summer programs)?

Members don't see this ad.

Karim said:
I'm only a undergrad freshman but I'm looking at possible research opportunities...does anyone know of any good competitive research programs (preferably summer programs)?

I googled "Undergraduate Summer Research Program" and found a bunch of them that way.

Most likely you aren't going to get an opportunity through a program for this summer. Most of the deadlines are in Feb-March for the upcoming summer. Do some searches and get your stuff together so you can apply for next year.
Another alternative is just to email multiple professors from the department of interest and see if they would be willing to take on some FREE labor. That is a good way to get your foot in the door particularly if you don't have any marketable lab skills.

Members don't see this ad :)
Also I getting into any is pretty tough, so apply to a lot of places. I barely came up with mine for this summer.

Avalanche21 said:
Also I getting into any is pretty tough, so apply to a lot of places. I barely came up with mine for this summer.

I cannot agree more. Apply to a lot of different places and do it early. Talk to your profs and get your LORs and send in everything the first day possible. This past year there were over 7000 applicants for ~200 spots at Pfizer so definitely apply to a lot of different places. It also depends on what you want to do because publishing in the pharm industry is hard when you are only around for 3 months and most of the stuff you work on is proprietary.