Army Research opportunity as an enlisted medic?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

68xAD

Reaction score
Hello,

After reading a tremendous amount of horror stories of .milmed( radiology going to brigade surgeon etc), I am a little hesitant about applying for the EMDP2, but since I have kids, I think .milmed is a way to go.

I've been doing volunteer work over a year and now I want to expose myself to the research environment.

I was wondering if captains/majors ever witnessed this happening before or is it even a possibility?

I have a bachelor degree in biostat but I do not have a prior academic research experience.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

I think it would be challenging but possible. I’d only do it if you’re genuinely interested. Your application can stand out in other ways and it’s not a hard requirement.

I think it would be challenging but possible. I’d only do it if you’re genuinely interested. Your application can stand out in other ways and it’s not a hard requirement.

Thank you.
What would you recommend I do to make my application stand out?

Members don't see this ad :)
Taking time to articulate what you've done in the military in a way that is understandable to civilians. Teamwork, leadership, service to others, dedication/perseverance. You've generally already done what will make your application stand out. Make sure you get some official shadowing in, maybe some community volunteering. I volunteered making dinners at a Fisher House on base and really enjoyed that.

Taking time to articulate what you've done in the military in a way that is understandable to civilians. Teamwork, leadership, service to others, dedication/perseverance. You've generally already done what will make your application stand out. Make sure you get some official shadowing in, maybe some community volunteering. I volunteered making dinners at a Fisher House on base and really enjoyed that.