Research or SMP during glide year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LLMP78

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am not applying for medical school until Spring 2017 as I haven't taken my MCAT and not going to until Jan. or April. I am waiting until I am ready as I really want to make sure I get a high score the first time around. I graduate in Fall 2016. I am kind of a non-traditional student as I graduated high school 2008, and I went to community college because of finances. I dropped out couple of times as I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do and had some difficulties. I transferred and got help and graduated with my A.S in Life Science. I transferred to get a B.S degree and as I said before I graduate in Fall 2016. I am going to take a gap year and half and may do research, work at a hospital or do a SMP. But need some advice if I should do SMP to improve my GPA or do research. My stats are below.

Also, i am not sure what is my community college GPA as I transfer out in 2012 and really had a bad experience and not sure what I received in general biology I and II, I know it maybe a C or C+ but not sure. Going to find out when I go back as I forgot my username and password.

cGPA: ~ 3.56 ( could be lower didn't add my courses from community college as those grades aren't available right now)

Associate degree in Life Science with a 3.89 GPA

I will graduate in the Fall 2016, and with 3.4 GPA most likely

sGPA: ~ 3.41 ( could be lower didn't add my courses from community college as those grades aren't available right now)

Gen. Biology I and II: Not sure (explained above)

Gen. Chemistry I and II: A and A

A&P I and II: A and A

Physics (Calc based) I and II: A and A-

Physical Chemistry I: C+

Analytical Chemistry: B

Pathophysiology: B-

Organic Chemistry I and II: Retook B (1st time: D) and B-

Advanced Lab in Chemistry: A-

Chemistry Seminar Part 1: B+

Chemistry Seminar Part 2: Fall 2016