Research-oriented programs that skew older / Research Experience

Sep 26, 2010
Status
Hello,

I'm a second career applicant interested in research-oriented PhD programs in Clinical Psychology. GRE 1400, GPA 3.5 Ivy League (not in psychology) and some clinical experience and good letters of recommendation. I am currently getting an EdM in educational psychology part-time, online. I have no research experience in Psychology and my Masters' supervised research course is not until my last semester (Spring 2012), which is too late for me to show in my application for entrance for Fall 2012. For 2011, I have an unpredictable work schedule (which is why I'm doing my EdM online) that requires me to be out of town quite often.

So here are my questions:

1.- How can I bridge my lack of research experience given my work schedule (the effort for me to put in is not the issue, but I cannot commit to specific times or days of the week to be in a lab setting). Is supervised research not in a lab environment an acceptable substitute? How about "unsupervised"?:confused:

2.- In the forum threads I've read about programs that skew favorably towards older students. How can I find out what these programs are? I'm only interested in funded programs.

Thank you

Existenz

Clinical Neuropsychologist
5+ Year Member
Nov 6, 2010
why dont you finish up your masters and then when you can devote the appropriate amount of time into a PhD do it?

OP
A
Sep 26, 2010
Status
why dont you finish up your masters and then when you can devote the appropriate amount of time into a PhD do it?
Thanks for the feedback. Finding the time is not the issue, committing to a consistent schedule to physically be at a lab is. So my question is, when schools look at research experience in a clinical PhD candidate, is a masters' research capstone project not done in a lab setting viewed as a reasonable research experience, or is being an RA at a Lab the true requirement?

Thank you for helping me clarify my question.