Research Professor Refuses to write recommendation letter

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

joker1212

Reaction score
Hey Guys,

Basically, I've been working for my research professor for about two years now, and yesterday I emailed her asking for a letter of rec for med school. I was a little hesitant because I haven't been the most consistent volunteer, especially last semester when I was studying for my mcat / taking classes and had to stop going for a few months. But, I have contributed some type of work, I've probably put in 200 hours over one and a half years, and I've presented a few times on my research as well as writing a rough manuscript for publication. Basically, I've contributed to the lab and have done some work, it's not like I was slacking over the two years. So, when I emailed her asking for a letter of rec for medical school, she replied: "I don't feel I know you enough to write a letter of support." Now I know I should just walk away and say "thanks," but I do feel as if I put in work for her lab even though I wasn't consistently coming each week. If it wasn't for the fact that I've presented twice in her lab (made two different presentations on my research) and have written a manuscript on my research, I would understand her concern, but because of this I'm a little confused by her response. I'm just wondering what you'd recommend / would do in my situation.

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I would ask if you could maybe set up a meeting for her to get to know you better. If she doesn't respond receptively to that I would move on.

She isn't saying she thinks you've done nothing. She's saying she doesn't know enough about you as a person to write a letter.