Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Research Project Went Belly-Up, Please Advise

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Silmaril, Jan 11, 2019.

1. Silmaril

Silmaril I always have a plan.
    Gold Donor Verified Account 5+ Year Member

Medical Student (Accepted)
    Warning: Long post ahead.

Background: I am currently in the cycle. I have acceptances.

My problem is that I worked for over a year trying to put a meta-analysis together (which I have never done before), put it on my AMCAS/AACOMAS because it was well in progress, but then was low-key dumped/ghosted by my research mentor.

In fall 2017 I applied for an undergraduate research position at my university (where I was completing prerequisites) working in cardio-oncology research. I was interviewed and selected by the PhD in charge of the project.

She gave me a general subject to research and write about (that I would have to further narrow down for the paper). When pressed, she wouldn't give me any deadlines except to say that I can finish it when I want to, but not to take too long so that others wouldn't publish before me. She said she would help me with statistical analysis. No advice as to how to determine the quality or relevance of papers and trials I would find, only that I would need at least 10 of them. No advice on narrowing my subject down. Yes, I did ask several times!

Knowing next to nothing about cardio-oncology, I launched into finding studies and papers for the project. I met with her occasionally and communicated via email with her. I wrote a small paper (7-8 pages) that summarized what I had learned thus far to show that I understand the underlying basic science principles and emailed it to her. She did not email me back. I emailed her again, and she said we should meet again.