Research vs Clinical Work Split as a Clinical Neuropsychologist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Slowtown-21

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm an 3rd-year undergraduate studying psych with a specialization in neuroscience. I'm very interested in pursuing a PhD in Clinical Psychology and career in clinical neuropsychology.

I have a question about the split between research and clinical work in academic medical center (AMC) settings in particular. I have read from different sources that it is possible for neuropsychologists to do both research and clinical work but I don't have an idea of the ratio spent between research and clinical work. I assume that a split of 50/50 for research and clinical is not realistic or feasible. What are some common ratios of work done in research compared to clinical work within an AMC setting for neuropsychologist? 70 for clinical work and 30 for research? Vice-versa? What might this look like on a day-to-day basis?

I ask these questions because I seriously considering becoming a neuropsychologist and I feel like lately I have been so focused on the journey to neuropsychology in terms of becoming a competitive applicant for Clinical Psych PhD programs and starting the process of applying. Although it's good to start these beginning steps, I want to have an idea of what life can be like once I actually begin my career. I think knowing what my destination will be in this long, duanting process of becoming a clinical neuropsychologist will 1) help solidify my interests in going down this career path and 2) will provide clarity on feasibility of my career goals because I know neuropsychologists can wear many different hats.

Members don't see this ad.