Research vs. mentoring

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CoffeeLuvver

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a sophomore assisting in a research lab. I have had the opportunity to work on my own project and will soon be published on one paper. If I continue here, I will most certainly have more projects and more papers. I like the research, but I also have an opportunity to be a peer mentor for freshman next year. I feel like this is also an excellent opportunity. I love working with people and having the opportunity to have an impact on people's lives, but there is little chance that I can do both without screwing up my GPA. Should I continue in the lab? or take this mentoring position? Both will look good, but is one more valuble than the other? Should I follow my heart or my head?

Members don't see this ad.

I think you should do what you want to do. Life is too short to do something just because you think it might look good to an admissions committee.

As was posted above, the one that you are more interested in is the better of the two. If you choose the one you enjoy more, you'll be more likely to excel in it, which will in turn strengthen your application by leaps and bounds.

Always follow your heart. If nothing else, you'll be happier!

Members don't see this ad :)