Residency and Paying Student Loans

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sprinkles

Want to be a Pharmacist!
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there! I was just wondering is there any way to defer your student loans if you are doing a residency? I am an older non-tradition who is going back to school for pharmacy. I have been a technician for over 5 years and see how many students are not doing a residency because they say they can't afford their student loan payment on the salary/stipend that a resident makes. I wouldn't have a wait time and would start paying immediately because of my undergrad degree from 2007. I want to learn more about what one can do to prepare themselves for it if they really want to do a residency down the road. Thoughts or suggestions? Thank you! :)

Members don't see this ad.

if you have federal loans, yes...the process is easy, log on to your servicer's website and into your account, there should be forms there you can fill out. some types of deferments/forbearances require proof, others are no questions asked.

As for private loans...i have no knowledge of those, check with your lender.

Repayment shouldn't begin until about December of your residency year anyway.

if you have federal loans, yes...the process is easy, log on to your servicer's website and into your account, there should be forms there you can fill out. some types of deferments/forbearances require proof, others are no questions asked.

As for private loans...i have no knowledge of those, check with your lender.

Repayment shouldn't begin until about December of your residency year anyway.
True, but PLUS loans (if you took any) begin repayment immediately after school ends. No grace period on those as I understand it.

Members don't see this ad :)