Residency/Board Exams confused?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SAFOOT

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey guys i'm new to this field and trying to learn as much about it as i can. I have a few questions about boards and residency programs i'm somewhat confused about.

First of all what is the name of the boards when you take them your 2nd and 4th year in pod school? Then are you graded on it or is it a pass/fail test?

Now for residency is there another test to get accepted for residency programs? If so what is that called? If there is no test then what determines how well of a residency u get into? pod school gpa?

Thanks guys really appreciate it

Members don't see this ad.

hey guys i'm new to this field and trying to learn as much about it as i can. I have a few questions about boards and residency programs i'm somewhat confused about.

First of all what is the name of the boards when you take them your 2nd and 4th year in pod school? Then are you graded on it or is it a pass/fail test?

Now for residency is there another test to get accepted for residency programs? If so what is that called? If there is no test then what determines how well of a residency u get into? pod school gpa?

National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners (NBPME)
(www.nbpme.info)

Part I - end of 2nd year and is pass/fail
Part II - Towards end of 4th year and is pass/fail
Part III - Depends on the state in which you go to residency. Some states require that you take it before you start residency while others don't. I think that most states require that you take it at some point during residency though.