Residency - Confused

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

john joseph

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. My name is John Joseph - I am a first year Medical Student at SUNY Downstate. I just had a few questions about residency placement. I am very interested in pursuing a residency in Surgery, perhaps one of the specialties. I just wanted to know what the important factors are in residency applications. I know that grades, especially during the clinical years, as well as the USMLE Part 1 scores, are very important. However, I was wondering how important other factors, such as Extracurricular Activities (i.e., being an Officer of a Club) are. It seems like in order to receive honor grades, I don't have the time for extracurricular activities. Are they really as important as they were for getting into medical school. Also, is research important, and, if so, should I pursue a research project in the Surgical Department. I would greatly appreciate if any knowledgeable medical students or physicians could answer some of these questions. Thank you very much.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey... I have a friend from college named John Joseph who's now at UT Houston.

And, as far as I know, there is no "John Joseph" in my first-year class at Downstate. Who are you, and why aren't you using your real name?

Tim of New York City.

OK. My name is Hans Cho - I am a first year medical student at University of Rochester School of Medicine. I didn't want to use my real name for security reasons (I have had issues), but I guess it's safe here. Happy, Tim of 'NYC' (aka, Turtleboard).

Members don't see this ad :)
There is, however, a person in my class with the last name of Joseph.

Would that be you? Hans Cho, huh? According to the University of Rochester School of Medicine (& Dentistry) directory, Hans Cho doesn't exist (although a friend of mine at Roch Med is)... Spooky.