residency for DO in MI w/o AOA internship?

Discussion in 'Clinical Rotations' started by Chris_Topher, Feb 17, 2002.

1. Chris_Topher

Chris_Topher Señor Member

I am a DO student in Michigan, and was wondering about training in an ACGME program here. I know that in order to practice in Michigan, DOs must have completed an osteopathic internship. But is the same true for a training license? Or can a DO get a training license in MI without having completed the AOA internship and then move to another state (not one of the 5) to practice medicine. I understand that under this scenario one would not be able to moonlight.

I have received conflicting answers to this question, and would appreciate any info.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. pags

pags Senior Member

Good question. As far as I know is that you CAN train at an ACGME accredited program, sit for their boards, become allopathically ceritfied, but cannot practice in MI until you either completed an AOA internship or lobby the osteopathic board and convince them to accept your first year as equivalent to the internship.
    Then, and only then, you will be able to practice in your state, as you mentioned.

To be able to moonlight, I think you would need your DO license, and in MI, you would need to have successfully completed that internship or have equilvalent.

4. doughboy

doughboy Senior Member