osu2006

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Nov 19, 2003
Columbus
Status (Visible)
I'm an Ohio resident and looking at schools to apply to. I had sort of discounted University of Cincinnati just because I didn't want to live in that city, but in driving through there yesterday I realized I really like the Kentucky side of Cincinnati. So, since many of the functions of Cincinnati are in Kentucky and it's one big metropolitan area (the main example being the airport located in Kentucky), can I maintain my residency for Ohio, go to UC and live just over the river in Kentucky? Another school with a similar situation is U of Toledo which could potentially cause you to live in Michigan.

Does any one have knowledge or experience on this. We were ideally looking to buy a house wherever I get in and we were looking to buy out in the suburbs/country? Any answers are appreciated.

mlw03

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Aug 15, 2003
Canada
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
my advice would be to contact the school's student affairs office. each state has its own set of residency requirements, and the student affairs people would be the ones to help you with the specific ones for their state. it's an interesting question though, so i'll be interested in what the answer turns out to be.

kasimagore1

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
May 16, 2002
Status (Visible)
You can live whereever....as long as your reported official mailing address is in Ohio (eg. use your parents's address). No body is going to have the energy, manpower or money to start an investigation on whether you are living at the ohio or KY side of cincinnati.

About the Ads

Hallm_7

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Feb 18, 2002
Status (Visible)
  1. Post Doc