Residency match

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Baditude

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am considering a caribbean medical school over an American D.O school for the sole reason of being able to be finished somewhat sooner. I am an older student (34) and I did okay on the MCAT and my gpa isn't horrible but I have 2 children and a husband to consider in my decision. My main concern with a non-american school is will I get a good residency placement? I am leaning towards emergency medicine at this point.
What other difficulties might I experience if I choose a caribbean school? Any help would be greatly appreciated

Members don't see this ad.

EM I believe is a more competitive residency to attain.

A lot of DOs go into it.

I think you'll have an easier time getting into EM if you graduate from a DO school.

while ER is quite competitive, it isnt impossible if you come from the more decent schools in the Caribbean.. st G, Auc , Ross..

Make sure you do your rotations in hospitals with ER residencies hough

Members don't see this ad :)
If your dead set on EM go DO definitely. It will be easier to match from a DO school than a Caribean.

Keep in mind that many people change their mind about specialty many, many times.

If you want primary care, caribean=DO. No difference at all. Competitive specialties will be easier through the DO route, since DOs have their own residencies.

If you're a fmg grad and you want to go into EM you will need good scores on the usmle (>215), very good lor's, and apply to many programs. Actually, you would probably need to apply to every program that's within your reach. By that, I mean avoid programs that don't take fmg's.

If you go to a DO school you would still need good scores and lor's but you won't need to apply to as many programs as you would if you're a fmg.