Residency questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

path1

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm new to this so please excuse any errors,

I have a unique situation. At the last minute i changed specialties from surg to path and resultingly did not have time to get a residency. The scramble was pretty miniscule and decided to take a year for path research and reapply (after May it will only be 5 months).

My questions are:
1. Has anyone ever done what i'm doing, and if so does/will it hurt my application for next year

2. Which path programs are good? I've asked the chief pathologist here, some on scutwork.com and would like opinons from those who actually interviewed and saw the facilities. I'd like to go to stanford, but i don't have a phD and heard stanford/ucsf prefer MD/PhD's. Is this true?

Members don't see this ad.

No, taking a year off to do path related research can only help next year. Also, switchting from surgery into path is a pretty common occurence. It shouldn't be a problem. I think most pathologists are very sympathetic of people switching from extremely intense specialties such as surgery into pathology.