Residency tracts for women who have kids

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cmyoung83

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Are there any residency programs that are prolonged for women with children? I know that one program exists in california. Internal med that is 5 years long- no calls, no weekends, etc. I was wondering if anyone has heard of anything else. I graduated in June and took the year off while my husband is finishing his training. I was planning on applying this september, but found out I will be having a baby in Feb. Instead of starting residency with a 6 month old and a husband in fellowship, I am left having to take another year off (I know plenty of women that are in residency and have kids, but I'm not willing to make that sacrifice at the expense of my children). Please let me know if anyone knows anything

Members don't see this ad.

Are there any residency programs that are prolonged for women with children? I know that one program exists in california. Internal med that is 5 years long- no calls, no weekends, etc. I was wondering if anyone has heard of anything else. I graduated in June and took the year off while my husband is finishing his training. I was planning on applying this september, but found out I will be having a baby in Feb. Instead of starting residency with a 6 month old and a husband in fellowship, I am left having to take another year off (I know plenty of women that are in residency and have kids, but I'm not willing to make that sacrifice at the expense of my children). Please let me know if anyone knows anything
medicine is not afamily friendly profession as you have figured out already. right?

Not completely. I know there are some programs that are more so than others. Please respond if you know of residency tracts tailored to women with kids, I'm not trying to have a disscussion about hardships or sacrfice.