Resident prescribing meds for family members

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

needachange2017

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

Thought I consult you folks on a issue that I've been getting different responses from seniors.
I am a second year radiology resident; I have my own npi number. From what I gather, many of my colleagues are calling in prescriptions for abx, ibuprofen, scopolomine, etc, no narcs or controls. So I tried doing the same for my family the other day. When I called in to the CVS my family goes to, everything seemed fine. ez peezy lemon squeezy, right? No, couple days later, I get a email saying I'm not registered under CMS (my dad is under medicaid), and that I would get no refills for the ibuprofen 600mg that I called in for.

So whats the deal guys? Is it kosher for residents to call in scripts for family members as long as it's not a control? what's this business with CMS?

thanks for the help.

Members don't see this ad.

http://forums.studentdoctor.net/thr...ur-states-policy-your-educated-stance.631760/

There's already an active thread on this, so I guess you're from a state that doesn't have that restriction as a problem or has extremely lazy pharmacists. On the CMS matter, that's actually not a prescription issue, but an insurance one. I'm betting that when the script was submitted, the insurance check confirmed that you are not registered with CMS as an independent provider at the moment and rejects payment. Depending on your state's licensing status, this is either very easy to rectify or a PITA. Note that from a radiologist and not related to practice, it could be a later problem for you if there is an insurance audit and this script comes up. If discovered to be paid and without corresponding charting, that's a huge utilization review penalty to your supervising physician's reimbursement percentage which that physician may take out on you professionally.