Residents with slightly older kids - Looking for tips!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ceusina

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an MS4, getting ready to start my general surgery residency this June. I also have an almost 5 year old son that'll be 10 when I finish training (unless I decide on a fellowship, which I doubt). He's still pretty young, but certainly past the baby/toddler age and getting ready to start Kindergarten (wow, those years flew). I'm also married to a PGY-3 resident in a different field (he'll be in his last year of training when I'm an intern).

So, for parents to older kids, I have a couple questions:
-How do you explain your long hours to your kids? (Why you come home late or are gone on weekends?)
-What if you're scheduled to work on a major holiday (Birthdays and Christmas comes to mind) - how do you still celebrate if you can't physically be there?
-How do you handle missing your child's activities? I certainly won't be there for every soccer game/swim lesson, etc.

We already have the child care thing mostly figured out with the help of two - yes two - nannies, daycare/Kindergarten and family closeish, approx. 1.5 hrs away (and available on last minute notice). Thankfully, my husband and I have some practice juggling our insane schedules and childcare needs while I was doing clerkships and surgery sub-Is. But, any tips regarding childcare would still be appreciated!

I welcome any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I have 3, my youngest is close to the age of yours.

1. My kids have become accustomed to the hours, they experienced them when I was in medical school, and they seem to understand that residency is just more of the same. I talk regularly with them about it, and help them anticipate particularly rough blocks when I'll be gone more than usual. But they seem to have adjusted well.