MD & DO Retake MCAT? cGPA 3.5 sGPA 3.0 MCAT 502

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kmagine22

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm applying this cycle and having a hard time deciding if I should retake the MCAT. I submitted to 25 schools, with a broad range of selecivity.

Ivy undergrad, was a D1 athlete and come from a religiously diverse background. I completed a year of AmeriCorps service in a rural area, and want to work in rural family medicine.

Science gpa was low before completing my science pre-reqs and post-bacc work at a large state school. During that time I worked as a medical scribe.

A family member passed away four days before the MCAT, the last week before the test was difficult.

I'm considering quitting my research job at a large academic medical center to study for the last September test date from Aug1-Sept 19. Is this feasible for improvement? While studying for the first exam I was working 4 days a week, volunteering, leadership in 4 clubs.

Any advice would be helpful as I'm having a hard time answering the "What are your plans for the next year?" question on secondaries...

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I''m a WA state resident, historic OR resident.

This is my school list:
Arizona Tucson
Baylor
Creighton
Colorado
Drexel
Emory
Geisel - Dartmouth
George Washington
Georgetown
Loyola
Medical College of Wisconsin
Minnesota-Duluth
OHSU
New York Medical College
Penn
Temple
Tufts
Tulane
Rush
UW
WSU
Yale
Pitt
Rosalind Franklin
Case Western