Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Retake or not

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by maddogdo, Jun 21, 2001.

1. maddogdo

maddogdo Junior Member

So, I know we all get tired of these post but I need some advice. I figured the best place to get it is here. I am trying to decide whether I should retake my MCAT or not. I got a 9,6,8. The 6 was in ps. I have a 3.7 cumm and 3.3 science gpa. I have had a lot of experience with osteopathic medicine and allopathic. I worked in both kind of hospitals. I have done all the other stuff that we all talk about. I studied six months for this last test and I don't want to go through that again. I am just wondering do I have a chance with these stats???????
    Thanks for the advice.null

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Popoy

Popoy SDN Super Moderator

Resident [Any Field]
    WELCOME TO SDN!!!

Those are pretty tough scores to get in with.... IF you really don't want to do the MCAT's again, I suggest you apply this year to as many schools are you can..... choose wisely. At the same time, start evaluating yourself regarding the need to retake the MCAT's for another time.... Depending on how you sell yourself to the adcoms, you may just have a fighting chance.... I tought one but you never know....

Good luck,
    :cool:

4. You should definitely take the MCAT again.

5. anna

anna Member

I think it's worth it to apply to osteopathic schools, but not allopathic. Definitely retake the exam in August and hold the scores until you see them. Then send them in ASAP.