Retake? Reapply? MD or DO or SMP?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gsherm52

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I graduated this past spring and I would like to go MD but I am also considering DO.
My stats are:
3.73 cGPA 3.65 BCPMGPA
MCAT(VR/PS/BS)
3/10/9
8/8/12
6/11/12
During undergraduate i did , a number of groups and clubs, fraternity, football
Research 2 years
Volunteer at the hospital 100 + hours
Volunteer as HS football Coach 100+ hours
Shadow general surgeon and plastic surgeon 50+ hours
Worked as a lab technician for CMEs at SLU for a summer
Worked in a lab another summer
Worked as a TA/ Lab assistant for a year
Work as medical scribe in the ER

I have been considering retaking my MCAT. I know I can do better on the Verbal I was averaging 9-10 going into the last test i just froze. Im not sure how taking the MCAT 4 times would look though. I am also considering going into a SMP but im not sure if that would be of great benefit for me because I have a decent GPA

Any advice and help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you
gsherm52 is online now Report Post

Members don't see this ad.

If you're not an ESL, the near consistent poor VR score is of some concern. I don't think you'll magically do better, and it also seems like you're plateauing out in the high 20s anyway. Certainly, do NOT even think of retaking the MCAT until you fix your test taking deficits. You should not be freezing on exams, and in medical school, we're addicted to standardized exams.

As of right now, I think your best chances will be with some DO programs (not all, we average scores and my Dean would probably reject you.)

I think you should also take a crack at a few low-tier MD schools, and try your state school as well (if any).

Hello everyone, I graduated this past spring and I would like to go MD but I am also considering DO.
My stats are:
3.73 cGPA 3.65 BCPMGPA
MCAT(VR/PS/BS)
3/10/9
8/8/12
6/11/12