Retakers(Part 1) Path to success..

Discussion in 'NBDE Exams & Licensure Exams' started by drjughead03, Jan 5, 2009.

1. drjughead03

2+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    Hi All..

Congratulations to all who have made it on their first attempt..I am starting this new thread for all the Part 1 Retakers...

Many of us on SDN who havnt got a acceptable score have been wondering the following ?
    1) Where did we go wrong?
    2) Did we study the right study material?
    3) What can we do to improve our score and correct mistakes?

Lemme start with myself..I gave exam in Dec and got 84 , I studied for like 5 to 6 months and referred the following books Kaplan,first aid,past papers,okeson,decks and usmle lectures...

Now the most important? where did i go wrong..It was not in my prep, But the way i performed on exam day..i blacked out for few mts and just can say it wasnt my best day..Would i do study anything different again - NO

THE PURPOSE OF THIS THREAD IS TO SHARE OUR EXAM EXPERIENCE AND LEARN FROM EACH OTHER MISTAKES..

I am sure most of us,who hav low scores would hav exceled in 1 or 2 subjects atleast..I hope those of us can give guidance to others...

ADVICE IS ALWAYS WELCOME ON THIS THREAD FROM STUDENTS WHO HAVE MADE IT AND ALSO ITS IMPORTANT TO LEARN FROM EACH OTHERS MISTAKES.

Plz share ur experience and knowldege who r retaking and lets post all that we can learn from each other..There is no shame in accepting mistakes and learning from each other..

Hope to hear from u all..

2. dentistjpr

7+ Year Member

Dental Student
    I barely passed. I know the reasons i didn't score high: could not give it my 100 % due to illness and i had no time to do any old papers or for that matter text books. I think they help you realize where are you lacking and to prepare better.