Retaking mcat

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Daydreamer2008

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, so I've come to the realization that I really really want to retake the mcat and do better, but I hope that I'm not being totally crazy.

I have a 32 p (11V 11P 10B). I did minimal studying for this test, took a class, but barely studied outside of class, did a few practce tests here and there (~5). So I feel if I studied seriously this time, I could do better. I applied this year with no interviews (i have a 3.4 gpa, applied initially to 13 schools, letters of rec in by september, added 5 schools late ) and I really don't want to do a post-bac program, so i feel like if i get at least a 34-35, schools will look at me more seriously, and i have a better chance to get into good schools in Cali next year.

what do u all think. if i KNOW i can do better would u do what i'm doing?

any advice would help.

Members don't see this ad.

Ok, so I've come to the realization that I really really want to retake the mcat and do better, but I hope that I'm not being totally crazy.

I have a 32 p (11V 11P 10B). I did minimal studying for this test, took a class, but barely studied outside of class, did a few practce tests here and there (~5). So I feel if I studied seriously this time, I could do better. I applied this year with no interviews (i have a 3.4 gpa, applied initially to 13 schools, letters of rec in by september, added 5 schools late ) and I really don't want to do a post-bac program, so i feel like if i get at least a 34-35, schools will look at me more seriously, and i have a better chance to get into good schools in Cali next year.

any advice would help.

Your MCAT is OK - it is your gpa that is holding you back (IMHO). I hope your LORs came from profs who gave you A or A- grades or that could be another black mark on your appie.