Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Retaking undergrad classes...HELP!!

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by AnnaB, Nov 9, 2001.

  1. AnnaB

    AnnaB Member
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was wondering if anyone out there could please clarify something for me. I am an adult student, now taking pre med classes...and am doing very well. However, my undergrad GPA is less than stellar and I want to retake a few classes to get that GPA up. My question is: HOw does this work??? Do I retake a the SAME class I did poorly in...and the new grade gets substituted when I calculate my cum GPA on med school apps??? OR...I just take ANY class at all and do well...and just average it in with the old??? HELP!!!! Any help would be appreciated!!! thanks!!
     
  2. Pilot Guy

    Pilot Guy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I've read, but I'm sure others know more, retakes do not replace the previous grade. They're treated like a seperate class, in terms of science GPA on the AMCAS. Here's a link with more detail on that:
    http://services.aamc.org/amcas2002/Help/WebHelp/coursework/Course_Type.htm

    Look under the "repeat" section for all the details. Apparrently, even if only one attempt shows up on your transcript, you have to report both attempts to AMCAS. :(
     
  3. E'01

    E'01 1K Member
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    1
    Status:
    Medical Student
    I retook a whole bunch of classes (year of bio, year of chem and first semester physics) during my post-bac years. ALL grades get entered and factored in on the AMCAS. No substituting. I also took some upper-level bio classes to prove that I could handle the sciences. It hasn't hurt me to do the above as far as I know. I've gone on 6 out of 9 interviews and have had one acceptance. It has come up in every single interview though - basically interviewers wanted to know why I did so poorly in undergrad. But then they all focused on the upward grades trend thereafter and that was that. Good luck! One suggestion: I would not recommend re-taking your classes at the same school you originally took them in. Also, you might want to consider taking them at an academically rigorous institution - just to prove to adcom that you can manage the work.
     
  4. kjm

    kjm Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    E'01

    Hi. I was wondering why you suggested not to take the classes over again at the same school that you took them at.

    Sorry, that sounded wordy :rolleyes:

    Thanks
     
  5. E'01

    E'01 1K Member
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    1
    Status:
    Medical Student
    It was based on advice I was iven before I graduated from undergrad. Also, I figured a change of professor, student body and overall atmosphere would make a difference...and it did! Plus, if you were to take it at the same school and got anything less than an A, maybe med schools would see that as odd, considering that you saw the material beforehand when you took it for the first time. Every premed course is slightly different at various schools - at least in the manner that it is taught, I think.
     
  6. vixen

    vixen I like members
    10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    5,760
    Likes Received:
    1
    E '01
    Were all of your grades stellar when you took them over...I am retaking one class now (Organic), and also taking microbio and biochem (new classes for me). In organic and microbio I am doing well, but after our first test in biochem, I only got the average...have any tips on how you made things better the second time? And also, did you have all A's when you took your postbacc classes? Thanks :)
     
  7. madball

    madball Junior Member
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know that this is the pre-allopathic (MD) forum and not the pre-osteopathic (DO) forum, but does AACOMAS count only the MOST RECENT grade if a course is retaken? I have heard this several times but do not know where I can confirm it.

    Thank you!

    madball
     
  8. E'01

    E'01 1K Member
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    1
    Status:
    Medical Student
     

Share This Page