Returning to Residency after a break?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

confusedSE

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys. I am a second year medical student thinking about going into healthcare business, perhaps consulting. Either way- after i get my MD, right after med school graduation- I want to work for 2 years to try to pay off some loans and see if I like consulting, and also to get some good experience. Does anyone know if it's hard to start residency when you take a couple years off after you get your MD? Or is it better to do an intern year and then leave for a couple years?

I want to see if I like the business side of healthcare, but I don't want to close any doors to residency. I also want to get my firm to pay for my MBA as well (another reason for working). Another thought I've heard is to take a year off b/w 3rd and 4th years- to work or get your MBA- and still be able to go into residency after your 4th year.

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

confusedSE said:
Hi guys. I am a second year medical student thinking about going into healthcare business, perhaps consulting. Either way- after i get my MD, right after med school graduation- I want to work for 2 years to try to pay off some loans and see if I like consulting, and also to get some good experience. Does anyone know if it's hard to start residency when you take a couple years off after you get your MD? Or is it better to do an intern year and then leave for a couple years?

I want to see if I like the business side of healthcare, but I don't want to close any doors to residency. I also want to get my firm to pay for my MBA as well (another reason for working). Another thought I've heard is to take a year off b/w 3rd and 4th years- to work or get your MBA- and still be able to go into residency after your 4th year.

Thanks.