Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Revealing a sexual assault in essay

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by lll505, Aug 23, 2002.

1. lll505

lll505 Senior Member

This is my first time posting on this site. I wondered if you all could help me out, since everyone seems well informed and supportive. What do people think about revealing a sexual assault that occurred while I was a post-bac? It didn't affect my GPA but I did only take 1 class that semester, and it forced me to take three years to complete my classes. (I was also working 25 hrs a week - so if I didn't mention it, I could say it took me awhile to finish b/c of work) I do feel the experience gave me a chance to view healthcare from the patient side, and that the experience made me stronger, but I'm not sure what to do.

Would love to hear any thoughts you might have, esp. if someone else has had a similar dilemma.

Thanks!

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Diogenes

Diogenes Succat

Well, no similar dilemma here, but I think it could be a useful part of an essay. That being said, I think many, many things could be useful in an essay, but if used badly the same things could make for a terrible essay. I think that it matters how you address it in your essay, but I think you should put it in.

4. Diogenes

Diogenes Succat

Welcome to SDN by the way.

5. uffda

uffda Senior Member

any specific essay you would be responding to?
    because if it is to a secondary question like "describe a difficult situation you have overcome" I'd say sure, if you are comfortable with describing it.

I might be hesitant to put that experience in detail in my personal statement only because it is so charged - you don't have to feel compelled to "explain" a bad semester in your personal statement.