Revealing that I have Asperger's to my Autism Research Lab? Good or bad idea?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whereisit96

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Every struggle I've had in my life can be traced back to Asperger's. It is by far the most important part of my identity. I don't have an official diagnosis as I am a broke college student, as many of us are. However, I have been active member of the Asperger's online community for a couple of years and I'm 99% sure I have it based on the diagnostic criteria we use and the behaviors I study.

I can't decide whether or not to reveal this to other members of my lab or to use it on graduate school applications. On one hand, having Asperger's has given me incredible insight into the social and cognitive struggles associated with ASD. Most of my proposed research ideas have been based off of my own struggles. I was interested in Autism before I knew I was an Aspie; however, it was still because I strongly related to individuals with ASD. I just didn't have the courage to really identify with the disorder.

On the other hand, Asperger's has made me well, Aspie. I'm uncoordinated and somewhat eccentric, and I do struggle with social interaction and overstimulation. These traits would certainly be detrimental to the tasks and duties of a psychologist. I plan to apply to either clinical psychology or developmental psychology programs. Still undecided. I really want this career so what I can make a meaningful difference in the world of Asperger's and write books on my own experiences and those of others. So eventually I do want to reveal my diagnosis, but since I don't technically have one yet I don't feel like I have to.

I just don't know. Part of me thinks this would make me a more attractive candidate due to the insight I have, but I also worry about the stigma. Or maybe it will have no effect. Just looking for some advice.