Reviewing before starting MS1

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

justmoi

NeuroticNeuroCrazed
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm starting med school at UTSW this fall, and I'm excited and nervous :).

I was just wondering if anyone has any advice for the incoming students in terms of preparing for the courses...like, are there things you wish you had reviewed before you were thrown into the vortex? Biochem/anatomy/etc...any thing specific you wish you had studied before rushing into it? I graduated Dec 07 so I've been taking quite a bit of time off and doing something completely different and non-bio, and I'm a little concerned I'll be a bit rusty come August. Esp when it comes to biochem, which I feel I took ages and ages ago.

So any advice for people who've been away from the bio books a little too long or the non-trad majors who're trying to get ready?

Members don't see this ad.

So any advice for people who've been away from the bio books a little too long or the non-trad majors who're trying to get ready?

Grab your favorite piece of fiction and hit the beaches until the day you have to start school. Nothing can prepare you for the volume of material they will throw at you during your first semester--better to just hit the situation well-rested.

yeah, i like that, and i'm doing that, but a voice inside keeps telling me 'beware beware' with an occasional siren screaming in the background. destroys the fun of a good novel.

everyone should read 'the brain that changes itself' by norman doidge. everyone in the world, not just doctors and doctors-to-be

Members don't see this ad :)
If you want to get started. Make sure first that you do come in well-rested, don't pull all-nighters on this stuff k?