Rhode Island Resident - Any Luck?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KindOfMaroon

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey All,

I've asked my pre-med advisor and a few people back home, but what's the scoop for Rhode Island residents? I know there's only one medical school in RI - Brown - so do we just not have a "state school" to apply to?

I know that, for Pharmacy School, kids from other NE states that don't have a pharmacy school can go to URI for state tuition. Any kind of thing like that for RI residents?

If there isn't a Rhode Island school, how long do I have to live in Chicago to become an IL resident/how does that work? Then I have quite a few choices...

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

My understanding for Illinois residency is that you just have to provide a state ID or voter registration card. I might be wrong so I would look into that... but if you can pass as an IL resident, I would.

From SIU:
ILLINOIS RESIDENCY:
SIUMED only accepts legal Illinois residents for the regular MD program. Legal residents are considered to be those in possession of a valid Illinois drivers' license and/or those who are also registered to vote in the State. Only the combined medicine and law (MD/JD) program considers non-Illinois residents.

UIC is a little bit more complicated... but they also tend to take a lot of OOS.

Hey All,

I've asked my pre-med advisor and a few people back home, but what's the scoop for Rhode Island residents? I know there's only one medical school in RI - Brown - so do we just not have a "state school" to apply to?

I know that, for Pharmacy School, kids from other NE states that don't have a pharmacy school can go to URI for state tuition. Any kind of thing like that for RI residents?

If there isn't a Rhode Island school, how long do I have to live in Chicago to become an IL resident/how does that work? Then I have quite a few choices...

Thanks in advance!