rib fractures

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Timeoutofmind

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have gotten a few calls on these from PCPs/surgeons.

Asking if "I can do a block".

In house we used to do thoracic epidural catheters and/or intercostal nerve block with liposomal bupvicaine when I was an anesthesia resident.

Anything reasonable to offer these people outpatient? Just seems nothing would last long enough to be meaningful...Are you guys doing paravertebrals/intercostals/something else? Or just telling them tincture of time?

Members don't see this ad.

In house we used to do thoracic epidural catheters and/or intercostal nerve block with liposomal bupvicaine when I was an anesthesia resident.

Anything reasonable to offer these people outpatient? Just seems nothing would last long enough to be meaningful...Are you guys doing paravertebrals/intercostals/something else? Or just telling them tincture of time?
Iovera Ice balls..

Iovera Ice balls..
With imaging guidance?
Is that covered by insurance?
Isnt that prohibitively expensive technology? I heard the handle is 10K or something? And how does Iovera really differ from standard cryoablation techniques is another point I am not clear on? Is it likewise non-neurolytic (sort of analogus to pulsed RF?)

Members don't see this ad :)

I am surprised they are calling you and not the anesthesiologist.

With imaging guidance?
Is that covered by insurance?
Isnt that prohibitively expensive technology? I heard the handle is 10K or something? And how does Iovera really differ from standard cryoablation techniques is another point I am not clear on? Is it likewise non-neurolytic (sort of analogus to pulsed RF?)
Always do my intercostal procedures under US.
Nope not covered by insurance.
I do not know the difference between regular old school cryo and the Iovera, besides convenience.