Dismiss Notice
Last chance to give your feedback! Fill out the 2019 SDN Member Survey to let us know what's important to you (and win prizes!)

Right time to get married?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by UTAPlaya10, Mar 11, 2007.

1. UTAPlaya10

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Hello, Im a freshman doing pre-med at a university and I am head over heels for a girl that I met a few years ago. I dont want to get married until she is done with her bachelor's but a lot of people have been telling me that I should wait until AFTER medical school or either my marriage will fail or my dream of becoming a doctor will be interrupted by a child. Is there any hope becuause I really dont want to wait until after marriage. She wants to be a dentist and we both want to go to graduate school close together. I want to go to UT Southwestern and she wants to go to the Baylor College of Dentistry which are ten minutes away from each other. Any advice on what we should do?

2. TMP-SMX

TMP-SMX Senior Member
    Moderator Emeritus Gold Donor Verified Expert Verified Account 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    You know there is such thing called contraception. Of course you have no idea where you two will end up no matter how much you dream about the fact that you will go to those two places. There are no guarantees and it's a hard thing to do. Since you say you are a freshman, I would suggest you do a little maturing before you even contemplate marriage.

3. jillibean

jillibean Senior Member
    2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    You're a freshman and you met a few years ago (...like when you were 15). I'd just chill out for a while. whats the rush, really?

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Kfire326

7+ Year Member

Medical Student
    No offense, but college freshman shouldn't be thinking toooooo seriously about marriage, IMO. Just wait.

5. Dr. Dukes

2+ Year Member

Medical Student