RN-- path to med school--advice please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pennington62

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 46 y/o RN with a 2-yr AD from '91 who would very much appreciate some words of wisdom and perspective from those who have chosen a longer path to becoming a physician. I have worked in the OR since '82 and about midway into my 20's was told I had endometriosis and should not waste any more time and have kids. Well, my plans for continuing my education and getting pre-reqs for med school came to a halt when I ended up divorced with twins and was/still am the sole provider. I did finish nursing school in '91 in spite of having back surgery the previous year after being hit by a drunk driver. Since graduation I worked full-time as an OR nurse but was never being able to finish what I started due to parenting responsibilities.
Fast forward to '08, kids are 17 y/o and the burning desire has never left me. After reading posts of those close to my age and even older, I am very inspired and trying to figure out how to get back on track. I am so much older now that I don't want to make a stupid decision and end up wasting years going in the wrong direction.
Specifically---
1. Should I get a BSN and work on pre-med pre-reqs at the same time?
2.Should I forgo the BSN, focus on the pre-reqs, being a strong applicant, MCAT, high GPA etc? Do med schools take someone w/o a degree seriously?
3. I am not interested in becoming a nurse practitioner or anything along those lines so investing in my nursing career and getting more nursing credits in that area doesn't seem like good use of my time----would I be better off getting a BS in something else?