Rollover of personal 401(k) to a Roth for the first year of work

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

The PA Investor

Reaction score
I just started a new job and get paid with 1099. I was thinking of opening up a 401(k) and contributing the max I can as a sole proprietor. Since I'm a new grad and will only be working half the year, I thought it would be a good time to roll that over to a Roth IRA and pay the taxes on it since I'll be in a lower tax bracket this year. Any thoughts about this would be great. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

You can contribute directly to a Roth IRA if you’re under the income limit. If you do a rollover you usually do it from another IRA

Many individual 401k plans allow Roth contributions, like Vanguard. I have my solo 401k with them, so I have a traditional and a Roth 401k. Plus I have my Roth IRA with them as well, but I make too much to contribute directly to that anymore

Reactions: 1 user
You can contribute directly to a Roth IRA if you’re under the income limit. If you do a rollover you usually do it from another IRA

Many individual 401k plans allow Roth contributions, like Vanguard. I have my solo 401k with them, so I have a traditional and a Roth 401k. Plus I have my Roth IRA with them as well, but I make too much to contribute directly to that anymore

My understanding is that despite the income limitations you can still make contributions to an IRA as a “backdoor Roth IRA”.

Make the usual contribution to an IRA and then “convert” it to a Roth IRA a day later.

Members don't see this ad :)