All Branch Topic (ABT) ROTC+ Ed Delay Pay? O3 with 4 years service?

Sep 11, 2014
Status
Medical Student
I am a new intern 2 months into residency. I did ROTC and went straight to med school with an ed delay (IRR status, non-HPSP). I have heard different things about whether or not I should be getting paid as an O3 with 0 years vs. 4 years of service since I paid my own way through med school. I am currently being told I will get O3 with 0 years pay

Can anybody provide any actual Army/Finance regulations that would support my claim for for getting paid as an O3 with 4 years? I have talked to people in the finance department at Ft. Sam and tried submitting at 1506 with my IRR time on it, but they say it will not count towards pay.

Please help! I do not want to miss out on 15k/year because I don't have the right evidence to back up my case

colbgw02

Delightfully Tacky
10+ Year Member
Dec 9, 2004
By the guy with the thing at the place
Status
Attending Physician
I researched this a couple of years ago to find the regulation. It wasn't easy to wade through the beaurocratese, and, unfortunately, I don't remember what it is off-hand. However, I might have posted it if you care to search the forum.

I don't think they've changed the reg, so the bottom line is that yes, you should be getting paid as an O3 over 4. It's not surprising that your local finance people don't know this, so it will take diligence and patience on your part. Eventually, it will get fixed and you'll get back pay. In retrospect, what is surprising is that I had relatively little trouble with this when I was an intern.

Reactions: Apollyon
OP
V
Sep 11, 2014
Status
Medical Student
I researched this a couple of years ago to find the regulation. It wasn't easy to wade through the beaurocratese, and, unfortunately, I don't remember what it is off-hand. However, I might have posted it if you care to search the forum.