Rough Start, Strong Finish. Chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iRise

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I have been browsing this website for quite some time and have picked up some great tips and advice. I was wondering if any of you could give me some advice regarding my chances for medical school (where I should apply to, are UC's an option, etc.) as well as what I need to improve before applying.

California Resident, attending a UC school
Cum GPA: 3.63, BCPM: 3.61, Non-Science: 3.65
MCAT: 36 (12/11/13)
Public Health Sciences major and Political Science major

My GPA is low because of my freshman and sophomore year. I was a student-athlete those years struggling with a medical condition that kept me out of classes (missed exams, multiple hospital stays, a lot of make-up work, etc.) and a majority of the seasons. I retook the classes I did poorly in (a chemistry class, biology class, and math class) over the summer and during junior year getting A's in all three. However, the first time I retook Chem 1A I got a C- (during my freshman year), took it again and got an A (my junior year). My junior year I averaged a 3.8-3.9 (took 80% of my science classes this year) and my senior year so far is a 4.0.

• EMT-I Certification: 2,000 clinical hours; taking Paramedic courses right now so that I can work as a paramedic during my off year(s)
  • Phlebotomy Certified: 600 hours working in lab
  • Clinical Care Extender (Volunteer): 300 hours
    • Gynecology and Urology - 3 months
    • Emergency Department - 3 months
    • Telemetry - 3 months
    • Intensive Care Unit - 3 months
    • Orthopedic Surgery - 3 months
    • Labor and Delivery Floor - 3 months
  • Shadowing: a pediatrician (30 hours), orthopedic surgeon (30 hours), and hematologist (30 hours)
  • Clubs and Organizations
    • Black Student Union member: 3 years
    • Pre-Health for Minority Students: 3 years