Rural Medicine Loan Repayment Programs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PharmDtoMDforme

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to SDN, so bear with me if I've posted in the wrong section here. I'm currently a 3rd year pharmacy student who is seriously considering medical school post-graduation. My biggest concern (like all professional students) is loan repayment. I have heard that in some states there are programs that pay in full or in part for medical school, provided you agree to set up shop in a "rural" healthcare provider shortage area for some number of years after graduation/residency. I'm really interested in primary care, so this sounds like a great deal to me.

Does anyone have any experience with such programs or know where I might find information on these types of programs. I'm looking more in the southeast, but if you know about programs elsewhere, that would be great too...I'm flexible :rolleyes:

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all,

I'm new to SDN, so bear with me if I've posted in the wrong section here. I'm currently a 3rd year pharmacy student who is seriously considering medical school post-graduation. My biggest concern (like all professional students) is loan repayment. I have heard that in some states there are programs that pay in full or in part for medical school, provided you agree to set up shop in a "rural" healthcare provider shortage area for some number of years after graduation/residency. I'm really interested in primary care, so this sounds like a great deal to me.

Does anyone have any experience with such programs or know where I might find information on these types of programs. I'm looking more in the southeast, but if you know about programs elsewhere, that would be great too...I'm flexible :rolleyes:

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=rural+medicine+loan+repayment+program