Rush Medical College vs. UTMB School of Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Neurd2017

Reaction score
A little background - I am a Texas resident who wants to go into either surgery or oncology - I am super interested in trauma surgery but am open to other types of surgery that will mesh with my lifestyle.

I am choosing between Rush Medical College in Chicago and UTMB School of Medicine in Galveston, TX.

I went to college at Tulane University and grew up in the suburbs outside of Dallas, TX - so I have never lived in a tiny community like Galveston, and I have never lived in a LARGE Metropolitan area like Chicago (I would not count Dallas as the same caliber of city as Chicago)

I have a dog that I have had throughout college and is definitely going to be going with me to medical school - so his quality of life is something that is important to me

One big thing that is making my decision difficult is that STEP 1 is Pass / Fail now - so where you go to school now matters a lot more than it used to.

Rush Medical College - Chicago, Illinois
Pros
  • INCREDIBLE PROGRAM, pretty difficult to get into - will set me up for competitive residencies (and I plan on specializing in competitive areas)
  • Doors across the entire nation will be opened from going here - so I will not be stuck in Texas for the rest of my career - where as UTMB will largely set me up in Texas
  • The opportunity to experience what it is like to live in a large city
  • Community Service initiatives - there are so many opportunities at Rush because this is one of their core values and is ingrained in the entire program
  • Smaller program - 144 students - so more direct interactions with teachers and faculty

Cons
  • The weather - I’ve never truly experienced cold weather and I love to do outdoor activities and roller blade and walk my dog and go to parks - so know that will be limited in Chicago