Saint Louis University (SLU) vs. University of Missouri (Mizzou)?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which medical school do you think I should attend?

• SLU

Votes: 13 65.0%
  • Mizzou

Votes: 7 35.0%

• Total voters

WaterCLurker

Aspiring Jedi Knight
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm entirely aware that I might have a lopsided view of the two schools because I have no experience with SLU and a lot of experience, both good and bad, with Mizzou.

Also, I'd very much like to leave Missouri for a residency in the northeast (strong ties).

Saint Louis University

Pros:
  • In St. Louis
    • Large city - lots to do in terms of activities
    • Urban under-served population
      • Presumably busier trauma – I could completely see myself going into EM
  • Large class that pulls students from across America - greater diversity in the student body
  • Seemed to be a great deal of support for students
    • true P/F - no internal ranking
    • serious concern for student health
    • very approachable professors - weekend office hours offered
    • seemed to have a good support system for residency matching
  • Residency matches across America
    • Students have matched into some of the residency programs that I may like to attend
  • Mostly traditional lecture-based learning (recorded, not mandatory, etc.)
  • A clean slate
Cons:
  • Higher tuition (but this actually doesn't matter all that much to me because GI Bill)
  • Lower avg STEP score in comparison with Mizzou (on par with national average, I believe)
  • Fewer opportunities for research it seems, but I'm not 100% clear about this
  • Tenet kind of ran SLU Hospital into the ground (SLU Hospital was recently acquired by SSM though), a lot of good doctors left and a couple of programs crashed and burned in terms of national ranking in the last decade, including some that I might be interested in