San Diego Designer to Doctor!?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

outsider18

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first real post, though I've been lurking for quite some time. The decision has been made (albeit with a dash of self-doubt)—I want to be a doctor. I'm 25, been out working in wonderful world of design for the past three+ years. In fact, I have a pretty amazing job right now and somehow I still managed to gave my notice. September 1 will be my last day.

I have a plan, only now I'm starting to second guess my decision to stay local (san diego) and try to do the CC route. I seriously considered formal post-bacs and still plan on applying to USC and a few others just in case I change my mind.

First, a little more background I suppose. During undergrad I took Calc, some Chem and a semester of Physics, those probably average out to a solid B. Overall, I graduated with a GPA in the neighborhood of 3.3.

I've been shadowing (mainly in ER) and for the fall I've enrolled in Bio I and Chem II in community college. Though I'm scared that its been too long since Chem to do well in part II, even though I'm really motivated and always really liked Chem. (I've also heard rumors that after 7 years, coursework becomes null and void so I've also checked with a bunch of schools that I'd eventually like to apply to and the word on that is that the only thing with a shelf-life is the MCAT.)