San Francisco Residencies

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kingfisher89

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm really sorry if this is the wrong place to post this, but I'm trying to get more of an idea whether or not this is a realistic thing. I'm trying to get into a residency in San Francisco to be able to move with my SO who is going there for a grad school, but I'm having trouble gauging how truly competitive it is and where I actually fall in terms of competitiveness.

So, I'm a rising MS4 at an allopathic school on the east coast (one of the best for primary care, not sure where it is in other rankings) and I want to do addiction psych/general psych primarily with the homeless population. Step 1 is 233, taking CK at the end of this month. I have some research experience in ID, but no publication yet. I'm doing a project starting a free footcare clinic for the homeless in the city where I'm at. Years 1-2 were Pass/Fail and I passed everything. For MS3 rotations I got a mix of honors (surgery, IM, neuro, hopefully psych) and HP (ob, family, peds). I'm hopefully doing an away at UCSF in the early fall.

Is it insane for me to try to get to the Bay Area? I'm really mostly just interested in being in the area vs. being in a specific program out there.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
UCSF is one of the most competitive programs in the country. Doing an away (ideally something like inpatient psych at the general) and making a good impression can go a long way. Like other top programs they are really looking for people who are going to be leaders in the field, and while the department seems to be more on a research kick and has been getting more residents interested in research, having some sort of track record in leadership, administration, education, policy, public service etc are all relevant too.