Scared about my application for TAMU vet med.. Class of 2026

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FarmLoving1236

Reaction score
Hi. I am currently extremely worried. I am a senior in undergrad at Sam Houston State University and I have a 3.4GPA Institutional GPA( Does A&M look at cumulative, institutional or both?) *what if it's not enough*, I currently have 90 hours and 15 of those were acquired at a community college: will that weaken my application?. My course load freshman and sophomore year were in average 16-17 hours per semester but I took some summer courses and am now graduating 6 months earlier so since that my course load has been 13-15 hours a semester, i'm not sure if that will mean anything within the application.. Also I have over 75,000 hours of animal experience(FFA,4H,Living on a farm, volunteer work ever since 2014 Freshman year of hs) I only have 725.3 Veterinary experience hours..., is that going to make my application weaker? I am worried about not getting into vet school at a&m because it's so competitive. How are the points awarded and how do the interviews go? I'm just trying to ease some of my anxiety :) thank you in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

It's hard to give you an idea of your chances without all the info. At the top of the forum, we have a "what are my chances" subforum with examples of info that will help us give you advice on your application.

For what it's worth, might want to take an hard look at 75,000 hours worth of animal experience. That comes out to over 8 years of work 24/7/365 or 36 working years (40 hours per week, 52 weeks a year). I feel you on having animals be part of your livelihood. But that 75000 might raise eyebrows.

Reactions: 1 users
Here’s a breakdown of their typical admissions formula. I’ll come back later when I can and answer a couple of your other questions

Attachments

• E34285B9-5229-4D81-B6A5-437C99660C64.png