Mar 5, 2016
Status
Pre-Medical
I'm a rising sophomore who is trying to set up her schedule for the next three years and really struggling. By far, the biggest hurdle (imo) that I have to overcome is Calc I, which might sound silly but I just finished my online CC course with a grade that is too low to transfer back to my school. After I hit 60 credits, i can no longer take any CC classes, so I blew that shot. I didn't have any prior calc experience, and underestimated just how hard an online class would be in math (essentially had to teach myself and did a horrible job at it.) Now, I can either take it at my school, which has a notoriously awful math dept, and the grade would affect my real GPA, or I can retake it next summer at a different school.

I'm looking to get into a specific rehab science program that would run the last two years of undergrad, but that means junior and senior year I am taking only health/rehab classes with no room for calc. In order to finish my premed recs as well, I had to double up in orgo and physics this year, so adding calc to that would be way too much IMO. I had a pretty successful freshman year (3.66 in the fall/3.85 in the spring, cGPA 3.75 and sGPA 3.625) but I am scared that due to my inability to space things out, I'll mess it up. I'd love to go right from undergrad into either an MD or DO school, but 4 years does not seem like enough time to get it all done.

Is it possible that I (or anyone, lol) can get it all done in time?

OP
R
Mar 5, 2016
Status
Pre-Medical
***The reason I'm hesitant about taking it at another school would be that I am looking devote next summer to MCAT studying and getting a really good research position, also I plan on going abroad next summer for a few weeks and don't see where Calc would fit in.

leonardoson

2+ Year Member
Apr 3, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
You don't have to do it all in 4 years. I'm 25 and have two years left for undergrad. Relax, enjoy your life!

Pagan FutureDoc

2+ Year Member